Chapter 4: “Training Day”

Chapter Four: “Training Day”

Tris POV

Beep, beep, beep, beep, beep. I hear an alarm go off. Suddenly, my pillow is moving. I groan.

“Tris.” I hear my name called. “Tris.”

I open my eyes slowly. Half of my body is on top of Eric, with my face right next to his. “Yeah?”

“Do you still want to go running?” Eric asks me. His hand is warm against my back.

“What time is it?” I ask.

“Eight oh one.” He laughs. “Normally by now I’m brushing my teeth.”

“I’ll go running with you.” I smile. I use his chest to push myself up, moving my legs to climb over him, and without thinking I end straddling him. Eric stiffens underneath me. “Sorry.” I can feel “Eric Jr.” straining to stand at attention. I can feel myself blush. I’ve never been intimate with a guy, so this is a new situation for me. I look up at Eric.

Eric takes a deep breath. “You know I really want to joke about this, but I’m having trouble concentrating right now.” His hands go to my waist.

“Shouldn’t I be moving?” I ask. “Wait… I mean moving off you.”

Eric laughs. “So are we still on for running? Cause you can go back to sleep if you want.” He hands tighten on my hips. “I wouldn’t mind seeing you in my bed when I got back.”

I roll my eyes at him. “I can be ready in 15 minutes.” His hands release my hips. “Meet you in the hall.” He nods. I grab my stuff from his desk and quickly depart. No one is in the hall at this hour. It looks dead. I quickly open my door.

Christina is the only one in her bed. I guess she and Will decided to part ways for the night. I throw my stuff on the bed. I quickly throw on my running clothes and grab my toiletries heading to the bathroom.

As I brush my teeth all I can think about is Eric. Why is he hanging out with me? Uriah said that he doesn’t have friends. Why did he ask me to go running with him? Let alone let me stay there last night. Then we wake up cuddling? Didn’t we go to sleep apart?

I spit and quickly put my hair in a secure braid. I see Eric standing in front of my door.

“What took you so long?” He laughs.

“Well I had to brush my teeth.” I open my door and toss my stuff in there. “I only took ten minutes. You’re just fast.”

“Does you brushing your teeth mean you wanted a good morning kiss?” He smirks. “Because I think we forgot that.”

“We can discuss that later.” I smile. “I thought we were gonna run.” I put my room key in my bra.

“Then let’s go.” Eric starts jogging to the stairs. I follow. We run down the stairs, he starts out going around the main part of the deserted campus, then through the parking lot, and then we are jogging around the entire campus. It’s not a hard route. I do like it though. I wish there was a rougher path. After two hours we are in front of the dorm again.

“I’m surprised you kept up.” Eric smiled.

“It’s not a tough route.” I smile back.

“So about that morning kiss.” He comes closer to me. His hands are on my hips.

“So you want kisses every day then, not just when I’m drinking.” I tease.

“What if I said, any time I could get them?”

“Is this you flirting?”

“Nope, this is me taking what I want.”

I stretch on my toes and give him a chaste kiss. “Happy?”

He makes a face. “That was nice, but I’m thinking more along the lines of last night.” He pulls me closer and really kisses me. His kiss is better than the one last night. Maybe it’s from all our adrenaline from our run. “That’s the type of kiss I wanted.” He says when he pulls back.

“Those are the types of kisses I reserve for someone I’m dating.” I say carefully.

“Yeah and?”

Eric POV

I look at Tris. I basically just said that I want to be in a relationship with her. I stupidly put all of my eggs in one basket. And it’s only her second day here.

She stares at me. “Are you saying you want to be in a relationship with someone you only met yesterday?”

I shrug. “I mean we don’t have to be in a serious relationship.” I pause. “We could just be friends who kiss from time to time, maybe spend the night together, get food together, and workout together.”

She laughs at my statement. “That sounds like a couple without being a couple. Actually that sounds like friends with benefits. Minus the benefits.”

“So we don’t have to put a label on it. I mean I just like spending time with you, anything else that happens is an added bonus.” I run my hand through my hair. She kisses my cheek.

“I like spending time with you too.”

I pull out my ID and open the door watching Tris go in first. We take the stairs back up. I let her go in front of me. Being honest, I just like watching her walk in those pants. She looks good.

We arrive at our doors. We both pause unsure of what to do.

“So is this run going to be a daily thing?” She asks.

“I run daily, except Sundays. And then when it gets cold I go to the gym.”

“When do you go during the week?”

I pause. “It kinda depends on my schedule. I try to go at 6, but I have some 8am classes so I was gonna change it to 5.”

“P.M.” She says.

“A.M.” I laugh. “Still wanna run with me?”

“Yes. I’d like that. All my classes are at 8 or 9 and I get done by 1.” She says with a huge smile. It’s a smile that I would like to see more.

“Then it’s a date for the semester.” I say before I can stop myself.

“Great. I’ll see you later then. Text me.” She goes in to her room before I can say anything else.

I smile as I enter my room. I quickly strip and head in to the bathroom attached to the room. It’s the only perk to being an RA on an underclassmen’s floor.

Leave a Reply

