Chapter Seven: “First Day”

Chapter Seven: “First Day”

Tris POV

Finally, my last class of the day. I sit in the front to the side. Someone sits down next to me. I look up and see Four sitting there.

“Hey Tris.” He smiles.

“Hey Four.” I smile back.

“What are you doing in a junior level class?” He says as he pulls out his book.

“I’m a junior.” I laugh. “How old did you think I was?”

“Nineteen, not twenty.” He smiles.

“I am nineteen, but graduated early from high school. Instead of using the year to work I went right in to college.”

Four nods. “Wow, didn’t know I was sitting next to a genius. Remind me when it’s test time to study with you, and then cheat off you.”

I laugh at him. “So what’d you end up doing after that “party” in the basement?”

“Zeke and I just chilled, nothing so exciting. What’d you and Christina end up doing?”

“Oh just got ready for today. I think I crashed around ten thirty. I got up at five this morning to go running with Eric.” I smile. It was a good run.

“So you and Eric are friends then?” The look in Four’s eyes say that he wants to know more, but he’s not going to like hearing it.

“We go running together. It’s not like we’re a couple.” I say.

“So you’re work out buddies?” He asks.

“Friends and work out buddies.” I correct him.

“Be careful, Eric won’t think twice before crushing you.”

I start to bite my pen. “I’ll remember that when we’re running.” I smile.

“Think the professor’s gonna come in soon?” Four jokes, changing the subject.

“I don’t know. If I was a professor I would show up thirty minutes before class was gonna end. Just to herd out the weak.”

“I had a professor who did that once.” He smiles wide. “It was horrible. It was a night class too. There were only thirty people in the entire class. By the time the professor got there, there were only five people left. She counted the ones who left absent.”

“No. That’s horrible.” I laugh. “I can’t imagine that ever happening.” We continue to joke around until the professor comes in. He decides that the first class is dedicated to the course material. Just like all my other classes. I dutifully take notes, unlike Four. He writes down a few bullet points. By the end of class my hand is starting to cramp.

“You’re all free to go. See you Wednesday.”

“Thank god,” I say packing up my books, “my hand feels like it is going to fall off.”

“That’s what you get for taking a bunch of notes newbie.” He laughs.

“I’ll be the one prepared for the test.” I reply simply. We walk out heading in the same direction. “So what are you up to now?”

“Heading to the student union and getting lunch before my next class. How about you?”

“Going to the dorm to nap.” I laugh. “I feel like I’ve been up for hours. I guess that’s what I get for waking up at 5.”

Four laughs. “Morning runs suck. That’s why I go to the gym after classes.”

“Yeah, but I feel off balance if I don’t run in the morning. I mean I work out at night certain days, but I need a morning run to clear my head and get me going for the day.”

“I get ya. I feel like crap the days I don’t go to the gym.” He smiles. “Well I’m going this way. I’ll see you later for dinner though.”

“Sounds good.” I smile. I watch Four walk in the other direction. He really is good looking. I get why all the girls consider him to be the good-looking RA. I think about the game of “candor or dauntless” on my way back to the dorm. I wonder if Chris hadn’t of dared me to kiss Eric if he and I would be friends. I mean either way she and Will would of ended up making out. I probably would’ve taken Four up on his offer of crashing in his room instead of asking Eric. Hmm… That’s something to think about. I’m taken away from my thoughts when I feel my phone vibrate in my pocket.

It’s a text from Four: I should of told you to join me for lunch. I’m an idiot. Interested in joining or did you already make it to your bed? πŸ˜›

I smile as I respond: It’s okay. I’m standing in front of the dorms. I don’t have the energy to go all the way to the student union. Wednesday? πŸ™‚

He immediately responds: It’s a date πŸ™‚

I smile. I head in to the building up to my room. I know I’m supposed to get lunch with Eric, but after that last class I’m beat. Four class in one day sucks, especially with the amount of notes that I take. I knock on his door. After knocking a few times with no response I go to my room. I kick off my shoes, throw my bag on the ground, and crash on my extremely comfortable bed.

Four POV

Throughout the class I listen and write down the main points. The slides are online. I can review everything there. I glace at Tris and see that she’s writing like crazy. But it’s not what on the slides, but all the extra stuff that he’s saying. Maybe I should ask to copy her notes later. Hell she may be a good person to study with. Hey, study dates. I hold in the laugh that is dying to come out of my mouth.

“You’re all free to go. See you Wednesday.” Our professor finally says after an hour.

“Thank god,” Tris says rubbing her hand, “my hand feels like it is going to fall off.”

“That’s what you get for taking a bunch of notes newbie.” I laugh.

“I’ll be the one prepared for the test.” We head out in the same direction. “So what are you up to now?”

“Heading to the student union and getting lunch before my next class. How about you?”

“Going to the dorm to nap.” She laughs. “I feel like I’ve been up for hours. I guess that’s what I get for waking up at 5.”

I laugh, scratching the back of my neck. “Morning runs suck. That’s why I go to the gym after classes.”

“Yeah, but I feel off balance if I don’t run in the morning. I mean I work out at night certain days, but I need a morning run to clear my head and get me going for the day.”

“I get ya. I feel like crap the days I don’t go to the gym. Well I’m going this way. I’ll see you later for dinner though?”

“Sounds good.” She smiles.

I head in the other direction. I walk towards the student union, grabbing a sandwich before meeting up with Zeke. I go to our normal area and spot him. “Hey man what’s up?”

“I need a reminder as to why I thought I would be able to take two classes before 12.” He has his phone out in front of him playing a game. “Let’s skip. It’s only syllabus week.”

“That’s because you’re fucking dense man. You don’t listen to me ever. No way are we skipping. It’s only day one. Let’s save it for when we’re hung over.” I laugh.

“Whatever.” He grumbles.

“So guess which resident I have class with? You only get one guess.”

“Your resident or one of mine? Because if you have class with my brother I feel sorry for you and that professor.” Zeke jokes looking up from his game.

“My resident. Actually Eric’s.” I roll my eyes.

“Are we talking about the girl you tried to make out with? Cause that girl is smoking. Don’t tell Shauna.”

“I didn’t try to make out with her, I did.”

“Yeah that’s not what I heard from Shauna. She says Tris thought you tried too hard to make out with her.” Zeke has a huge smile on his face. This is not gonna end well for my ego.

“No way! It was a kiss- a fucking great kiss you pansycake.” I laugh taking Uriah’s term. “You know what screw this.” I pull out my phone. “We can settle this today.” I quickly text her: I should’ve told you to join me for lunch. I’m an idiot. Interested in joining or did you already make it to your bed? πŸ˜›

“Yeah what ya gonna do?” Zeke rolls his eyes, going back to his game.

“She can join us.” I shrug. “We can settle this debate.”

My phone dings: It’s okay. I’m standing in front of the dorms. I don’t have the energy to go all the way to the student union. Wednesday? πŸ™‚

“Damn. She’s taking a nap.” I sigh. But I respond back to her: It’s a date πŸ™‚

“Are you sure she’s taking a nap? She might just want to get as far away from your lips as she can.” Zeke and I laugh.

“I don’t know. I’m starting to think that Eric has a thing for her.” I admit. “I mean they did play “seven minutes in heaven” so who wouldn’t get a thing for a girl as hot as her.”

“There’s no way that Tris could like him.”

“Like who?” asks Shauna. She sits down next to Zeke.

“Eric.” Zeke replies before I could stop him.

Shauna laughs. “Come on. Did you see that kiss? It was hot! All she could do afterwards was blush.”

I roll my eyes. “Thanks for the vote of confidence.”

“So what? A kiss is a kiss. Just because it’s hot doesn’t mean she’s gonna fall in to bed with the guy.” Shauna rolls her eyes at me. “Just make a move when we all go to a party. There’s supposed to be a huge party this weekend at one of the frat’s. You can do something then.”

“Whatever you say Shauna.” I’m sick of over thinking everything with Tris. I watch Shauna and Zeke together. They’ve been together since freshmen year. It’s sickening to see how in love they can be some days.

“Alright. I’m getting out of here. Watching the two of you makes my lunch come up.” I grab my bag and head somewhere away from the sickening couple I called my friends. I settle on heading to my next class fifteen minutes early.

As I wait out side of the room, I see people getting out of their classes. I watch as Eric walks closer to me. He has a huge smile on his face. He doesn’t see me and bumps in to me.

“Dude, my b-” He looks up at see’s that it’s me. “Yeah, never mind.”

“Asshole.” I say loud enough for him to hear me. He turns around and winks at me. What a fucking douche. What the hell could any girl see in him? He’s pathetic, especially with that stupid eyebrow piercing.

Leave a Reply

