Chapter Eight: “Tiny Little Bed”

Chapter Eight: Tiny Little Bed

Eric POV

I can’t help but smile as I climb the stairs to the third floor. All I’ve been able to think about for the past few hours is that by two I’ll be spending time with Tris. I’m a little surprised that I haven’t heard from her yet. I know that she got done around one. I’ve been expecting a text from her, incisively checking my phone. Quickly, I throw my stuff in my room and knock on her door. Only after knocking for a minute does she answer.

“What?” She barks.

I look at her with wide eyes. She’s wearing her clothes from breakfast, but they’re all crumpled. “I thought we were getting lunch now.”

“Shit! What time is it?” She asks, her hands automatically going to her hair.

“About one forty five.” I smile.

“Crap. I’ve been asleep for longer than I thought.” Her hands fly up to her mouth as she yawns.

I smirk at Tris. “Do you wanna go back to sleep?” I’m in the same boat as her, waking up at five for a morning run is draining.

“I think I’m gonna.” She pauses. “Do you wanna join me? I’m sure you’re tired too.”

“Roommate?”

“Chris doesn’t get back until five. It’s probably the first time I’ve had the room to myself since I moved in.”

I smile at her. “Sure. I’ll join you in your tiny little bed.”

“Hey, it’s way more comfortable than that rock you call a bed. No wonder I sleep on half of you.” Tris laughs.

“Okay, let me change.” I ruffle her hair.

“Door’s unlocked. Let yourself in.”

I nod and go back to my room. I throw on some basketball shorts and a sleeveless shirt. I can’t help but smile as I think of Tris. Her and I are spending most of our time in bed together. I’ve spent more nights with her sleeping on top of me then I’ve spent by myself. She’s right. It’s friends with benefits minus the actual “benefits”. I laugh at the idea. I grab my phone and keys.

I knock on Tris’s door before entering so she knows it’s me. Tris is lying in her bed, she changed from her jeans to shorts. Actually, normal shorts have more fabric to them. I lock the door behind me and climb in next to her, pulling her to me.

“So is us spending time in bed going to be a normal occurrence?” I ask after five minutes. Tris laughs. “Because if it is, can we please spend it in my bed?”

She turns to face me. She has a huge smile on her face. “Eric, your bed is like a rock. There’s a reason I sleep on half of you.”

I kiss her forehead. “You know, I’m starting to get used to sleeping next to you.”

Tris smiles at me. “I like sleeping next to you.” She pulls me to her, kissing me. “My favorite part is when I wake up next to you in the morning.”

I pull Tris to me and kiss her. One of her small, soft, hands wrap around my neck while the other grabs a handful of hair. My hands travel down her body, stopping when they feel the hot skin on her stomach. I grip her waist harder, Tris moans in my mouth. I pull back and start to kiss her neck. She moans again. That is definitely a sound that I could get used to. I gently bite her neck.

“No hickey’s Eric.” She laughs. I bite once more, before she pulls my lips back to hers, biting my lower lip.

“You’re such a tease.” I joke.

Tris rolls her eyes. “You’re a distraction.”

“A good or bad one?” I raise an eyebrow at her.

“Good. I think.” She replies. I kiss her again. “Good. Definitely a good distraction.”

“Good, but these shorts,” I pull the fabric at her waist, “these can’t even be considered shorts. They are too distracting.”

Tris laughs pulling my hand away. “They’re pajamas for when it’s too hot. I started wearing them once I started sleeping next to you. You’re like a damn furnace.”

“Well the furnace wants to take a nap. You’re distracting me.” I maneuver to my back, pulling Tris on top of me.

“Night.” She cuddles in to my side. Her breathing starts to lull me to sleep.

Tris POV

The bed room door slams shut, immediately waking me. I glance at Eric and he’s up too. I smile at him.

“Tris, you’re not gonna believe the freaking day I’ve had.” Christina basically screams. My head pops up to look at her. “Did I wake you?”

“You woke us up.” Eric grumbles, putting his head back down.

“Why is our RA in our room?” She questions, throwing her back on her bed.

“It was nap time?” I shrug. “Wait… Why is there mud on your clothes?”

“Some jackass on a bike rode through this huge puddle of mud. It’s horrible. I couldn’t even come back to change.” She answers angrily. “But back to my original question. Why is Eric here? In your bed? With you?”

“We decided to take a nap. We got up hours before you- it was needed.” I pause. “And as you can see, our clothes have remained on.” I pull at Eric’s shirt.

“Then why are your jeans on the desk?” Chris says holding them up with an evil grin.

Eric laughs. I hit his shoulder. “Do you like sleeping in jeans?”

“Okay Tris… So are we still getting dinner? Because I am starving.” Chris looks at me. Her eyes are burning with questions that are dying to be asked once Eric leaves the room.

“Yeah, let me put my jeans on.” I climb over Eric. “Time to get up buddy.”

Eric gets out of my bed, quickly grabbing his stuff. “See you later?” He says barely above a whisper, just loud enough for me to hear.

“Yes.” I smile back.

He kisses my forehead before leaving. “Pleasure, as always Christina.” He laughs as the door closes behind him.

“You never told me your friendship with Eric was serious.” Chris sits on the edge of her desk waiting for me to change.

“It is nothing serious. We’re just friends.”

“No! You and me are just friends. You and Eric are basically a couple. You spend more nights in his room than you do ours. That’s fucking crazy for only knowing someone for four days.”

“Christina, Eric and I aren’t a couple. We’re friends. We’ve had this talk already. We decided to just be friends.” I grab my keys. “Dinner?”

She nods. We walk to the stairs in silence, before she starts to bother me again. “When did you and Eric have this “talk”?” She questions. “If you’re only friends why are you spending so much time in his room? Are you guys sleeping together? Doing the nasty?”

“There’s gotta be something wrong with you.” I laugh. “You’re so nosey.”

“I just want answers.” She sighs. “It’s not right for me to be left out.”

I sigh loudly at her guilt trip. She and my mother could learn a thing or to from one another. “Chris, honestly he and I are just friends. No more, no less.”

“Fine, but think you could ever sleep with him?”

I ignore her and swipe my ID card. I grab some food and go sit at about we’ve all decided was our table.

“Tris, you can’t just ignore the question. I need answers.” She slams her fork down. “Now!”

I sigh again at her. “Fine, I like Eric. He’s nice to me. He’s also hot, I mean the eyebrow piercing is a huge fucking turn on.”

“There was that so hard?” She laughs. “So now let me tell you about my shitty day.” Chris launches in to this huge story about the jerk on the bike. She’s convinced that he rode in to the puddle on purpose.

Slowly our friends start to join us. Four ends up sitting next to me. He just about always manages to sit or stand next to me. I’m brought out of my trance when I see Eric walk in. Immediately, he zones in on me. He smiles before his face switches to anger, when he looks over at Four.

“Hey Tris,” Zeke laughs. “Looks like lover boy is jealous.” Every one looks over at him. Thankfully he moved so they can’t see his face.

I roll my eyes. “There’s nothing to be jealous of.”

“Yeah, they hang out all the time.” Christina says to the group without thinking. I kick her under the table. “Ouch.”

“You and Eric hang out a lot?” Four asks with a confused look.

“Yeah. We’re just friends. I thought you and I already has this conversation?” I roll my eyes. I quickly eat the rest of my food. Ignoring the direction that the conversation headed.

“Tris.” Four says pulling my attention. “I thought you said you’d be careful with Eric?”

“You’re not my dad Four. There’s no reason for you to choose who I am friends with. Get over it and stop treating me like a child.” I get up and put my plate away. I can hear Christina answering everyone’s questions. Telling the group how she “caught” me and Eric cuddling. I haven’t known her long, but I can tell that she can be a bitch sometimes.

I avoid Eric’s eyes as I pass. I head up to my room, angry with four and Christina for acting like my parents. I’m a big girl. I can take care of myself and make my own decisions.

Leave a Reply

