Chapter Fourteen: “Room Change Request”

Chapter Fourteen: Room Change Request

Tris POV

I’ve had a permanent smile since Eric and I left the tattoo shop. My tattoo only took twenty minutes, while his took three hours. And he still has to go back again to get it finished. We decided to grab take out from a hole in the wall Chinese restaurant and spend the rest of our evening in the small bubble we’ve created for ourselves in his room.

“I just gotta talk to Max real quick. Wanna bring this to my room?” Eric hands me the take out.

“Sure.” He hands me his keys too. “Talk about trust Eric.”

“I trust you more than any one else.” He smiles. “I’ll meet you there in a bit.”

“Okay, I’ll grab a change of clothes from my room then.” Eric and I head in different directions. I head up to his room while he goes to Max. I quickly put the food in his room. I unlock my door and see everyone is in there. My vision zones in on Four.

“Tris, I thought you were gonna be out longer.” Christina smiles at me.

“I just got back.” I respond stiffly. “What are you guys doing here?”

“Just hanging out.” Uriah responds with a smile.

I can feel my lips forming in to a tight line. “I can see that.” I move around them, grabbing a bag from my closet. I can’t stay here anymore. I need to get out of this room for good.

“What’s with the bag?” Uriah asks standing next to me. Everyone else has gone back to talking.

“Grabbing some clothes.” I give him a strained smile. “How come he’s in here with you?” I have to go near Four to grab some stuff from my dresser, but I really don’t want to go near him.

“He’s our friend. Just like you’re our friend.” Uriah shrugs. I can see that he feels awkward having to explain it all.

“Fine.” I gather courage and go near Four. I can feel him starring at me. “Do you need something?” I hiss at Four.

“Tris.” Four stands up. “I want to apologize. I’m sorry for what happened to you. It wasn’t my intention for you to walk away alone.”

“Asshole.” I say quietly under my breath.

“If I could go back and change everything I would.” Four pleads.

“Well we can’t change anything that happened can we?” I yell. “You are the reason that I almost got raped! I almost became a statistic because of you. You have no idea what it’s like. I relive the attack every time I close my eyes. I wake up every night in a panic.” I throw as many clothes as I can in to my bag.

“Tris, calm down.” Christina says to me.

“Calm down? Calm down! Why the hell is this guy in our room? You apologize to me for forcing me to spend time with him, then the minute I’m gone you invite him in our room? What the hell’s wrong with you? You must be fucking crazy.”

“Tris, you are the only one here who has a problem with him. Just because you’re mad at him, doesn’t mean that we have to be as well.” Christina says with an attitude.

Before I know what I’m doing my hand strikes her cheek. “You fucking bitch.” I go to hit her again, but I’m stopped when I feel her hand on my face.

“How dare you hit me!” Christina screams. “You’re the bitch here. You are fucking crazy.”

“There is no way I am the crazy one in this situation. I spoke to you about this. I said I do not want him in our room ever again. You said you were fine with that. You’re just a fucking liar.”

I throw my bag on the ground. I slap her again. This time I leave a handprint on her face. Good. Suddenly, Christina has her hands in my hair and is pulling. Will tries to pull Christina off me, but she still has a grip on my hair. Uriah has his arms around my waist trying to pull me away from her. Lynn get’s between us somehow and separates us.

“Christina what the fuck is wrong with you. You know that Tris has issues with Four. You told us that she wasn’t going to be back tonight. That’s why we had him come with us.” Lynn says sternly. Of all people to come to my defense I wasn’t expecting it to be Lynn.

Christina looks at her shocked, for once she has nothing to say.

“You’re a fun person to party with Chris, but you’re a horrible friend to Tris, who has done nothing to deserve any of the shit that you’ve made her put up with.” Lynn shakes her head. Lynn hands me my bag.

“Thanks.” I move hair from my face. I grab a few more things out of my dresser. I turn toward Lynn again and try to smile at her. I make my way out of my room, and I feel someone behind me.

“Sorry you have to put up with her.” Lynn says when the door is closed.

I shrug pathetically. “Thanks for stopping us. I wish that I had used my bag to knock her out.” I let out a deep breath.

Lynn smiles. “I was surprised that you threw it down. I really thought you were gonna knock her off her feet with it.” She laughs for a second before turning serious. “She’s a bitch, but she is fun to party with. You don’t deserve her crap though.”

“I’m gonna go talk to Max about switching rooms.” I open Eric’s door and put my stuff inside.

“So you and Eric are a thing?” She smirks.

I bite my lip. “Yeah. I know he comes off as an ass, but I like him. He’s nice to me. He’s been helping me deal with all the shit from last week. He’s a good guy, he’s just not given enough credit.”

“Well as long as I don’t have to beat his ass like what I want to do to Christina’s then right on.” Lynn laughs. “If you want, you could room with me. My roommate switched cause she didn’t like living with a lesbo.” She rolls her eyes. “So if you want the spot it’s yours.”

“Are you sure?” I say without thinking. “I know that getting a double room to yourself is a big thing.”

“Yeah, it’d be nice to have someone to talk to. And I like you.” She laughs.

“I’ll tell Max.” I smile, without thinking I pull her to me and hug her. Lynn is stiff for a moment, and then hugs me back. “Thank you… For everything.”

“You need someone to have your back Prior. I got your back and you got mine. I see us being great friends.” Lynn smiles.

“Me too. I’m gonna go speak to Max. I’ll let you go back in there.”

“Yeah, lucky me.” Lynn rolls her eyes. She opens the door and I can hear arguing. “Great.”

I lock Eric’s door and I slowly make my way to Max’s office. I really don’t want to interrupt them, I can hear them laughing in there. I sit down on the stairs and wait for the door to open. After five more minutes, Eric and Max walk out.

“What are you doing here?” Eric smiles.

“I need to talk to Max real quick.” I smile.

“I got time, what’s up?” Max opens his door.

“I’ll wait here for you.” Eric kisses my forehead.

I walk in to Max’s office and I sit in the chair in front of his desk.

“So what’s up Tris?” Max asks.

“I want to switch rooms.” I state simply.

“How come?”

“I got in a fight with Christina. She had Four in our room. I went in there to change and he was there sitting and laughing with our friends. I don’t want to have to see him randomly. I don’t want to put up with Christina anymore. I just want to switch rooms.”

“Okay, well I can put you a few different places.” Max starts.

“Actually, I was hoping that I could move in with Lynn on the second floor. I know her roommate moved out. And it’s not like I spend a lot of time in my room anyway.” I laugh.

“She’s okay with this?”

“Yeah, it was her idea.” I smile. “I mean I can’t avoid Four forever, but I don’t need to see him randomly in my room.”

“Okay, I’ll arrange it for tomorrow.” He smiles. “I’m glad Lynn will have a new roommate. Her last one was crazy, and that’s coming from me.”

I laugh. “Just let me know when I can move out.”

Eric POV

I wasn’t expecting to see Tris when I walked out of Max’s office. She looked happy and angry at the same time. I sit on the steps where she was and I wait for her. After two minutes she comes out smiling.

“So what’d you have to talk to Max about?” I ask casually, even though my thinking is anything, but causal.

“I put in a room change request.” She smiles brightly at me.

“What!” I stare at her.

“Can I tell you in your room, as we eat?” She asks as our stomachs rumble at the mention of food.

We slowly make our way up to my room. When we get to the third floor I can hear arguing. And as we get closer I can hear it all coming from Tris’s room.

“Should I break this up?” I question.

“Let it be. I’m pretty sure Lynn is beating Christina and I’m okay with that.” Tris smirks. She opens my door, giving me back my keys.

“I’ll be right back, stay here please.” I kiss her forehead.

I bang on the door across from mine. It goes quiet. I wait for them to answer the door. Christina opens the door, and she doesn’t look happy. She has a handprint on her face and her mascara is smudged.

“What?” She says in an annoyed tone.

“You’re all too fucking loud. And if Zeke is in there he should know that you all need to lower your fucking voices.” I tell them loud enough for the entire room to hear me. I step back and go in to my room. Tris is sitting on my bed. “So you’re switching rooms?”

“Yeah, I went to grab some clothes to change in to and Four was in the roo-”

“What!” I yell before I can stop myself. I’m gonna kill him. I see it now, I’ll beat the shit outta him. Max said for him not to go near her. He can’t be that stupid to think that just because she wasn’t in the room that he could be there. I’m texting him. He’s going down.

“I guess they were partying in the room. He was with them. Christina and I slapped each other, then I hit her again, and she pulled my hair. Will and Uriah tried to pull us off each other and it didn’t work, but Lynn stepped between us. She stuck up for me. She said there was an empty bed in her room, so I’m gonna move in there. I like her a lot better than Christina.”

I try to calm myself down. I repeat what she told me in my head. She’s moving out of there. She never has to deal with Christina or Four ever again. But’s she’s moving in with Lynn? I didn’t even know that they were friends. Before I can stop myself I ask her, “You know she’s a lesbian right?”

“Yeah. And?” She raises an eyebrow at me. When I don’t say anything she smirks. “Lynn told me herself. Why’s it matter? I spend most of my nights here anyway.” She pulls me to her and kisses me.

I pull away when my stomach growls. “We should eat. Although I’m pretty sure the food is cold now.”

Tris laughs, kissing me one more time. “Since the food is already cold a few more minutes doesn’t matter.” She pulls me back to her for more kisses.

Leave a Reply

