Chapter Nineteen: “Lunch Date Part I”

Chapter 19: “Lunch Date Part I”

Tris POV

“Hi mom, you’re here?” I ask.

“Hi Beatrice. I’m parking the car now.” She laughs. “I figured I’d come in and see your new room. And maybe while I’m there I could meet some of your friends.”

“Okay, I’ll be right down.” I throw a pillow at Lynn, hitting her shoulder, after hanging up. “Lynn, my mom’s coming up for a few minutes. Wake up! Then you can go back to bed and I will leave you the room for the rest of the weekend.” Lynn glares at me, but nods and gets up.

I quickly text Eric: My mom’s here. Knock in ten minutes.

I make my way to the first floor. When I hit the last step, I look up and see Max sitting in his office working on something. I knock on the door to notify him of my presence. “So you and my mom are friends?”

Max laughs. “Old friends, yeah. I never put two and two together until she called you Tris the other day.”

I shake my head. My family is the only one who still call me by my full name; no matter how many times I tell them I prefer Tris better. “Well my mom’s here, parking the car, if you wanna come meet her at the door with me.”

“Sure. I can put off this paper work for a little while longer.” He closes the laptop in front of him. He locks the office door behind him.

“By the way, I’m kinda waiting to tell my mom about Eric… And the tattoo. Can you hold off on mentioning it for a little bit?”

Max nods. “Hey it’s your business. I’m just here to see an old friend. I also plan to embarrass Eric. He’s the friend that you’re bringing tonight right?”

“My mom has never been able to keep a secret.” I shake my head. I open the door and see my mom standing in front of the building. She’s facing away from the door looking at the campus.

She turns around at the sound of the door closing. “Beatrice!” My mom pulls me in to a hug. “You look beautiful.” She whispers in my ear.

“Hi mom.” I hug her tightly. It feels like it’s been years, instead of weeks. “How was the ride up?”

“Easy.” She laughs. “You know that I drive faster than your father.” Max laughs at her comment and for the first time in a minute she looks away from my face. “Max, how lovely to see you.” She lets go of me and gives him a kiss on the cheek.

They definitely dated when they were younger… Gross. I’d rather not think of my mom dating any one other than my dad. Actually I don’t want to think of my mom and dad dating. I’m just gonna picture them happily married with two point five kids, the house with a white picket fence, and the dog. That poor puppy goes through too much with my mother.

We got him for her when I found out that I got in to Dauntless. My dad works during the days, so she’s home by herself nine out of ten times. She’s now permanently attached to that dog. I think the only reason she left him at home is because she wouldn’t be able to bring it in to the dorm. Poor Zoro. I hold back my laugh at our poor excuse of a dog.

“Well come get me when you’re ready for lunch. Tris knows where my office is.” Max says with a huge smile. I’ve never seen him smile this much before. Maybe he’s still in to my mom… Awkward.

I nod. “So you wanna see the new room?”

“Sure. How’s your new roommate? You never told me what happened between you and Christina? I thought you guys were going to be great friends with one another.”

I lead the way to the stairs. “Lynn’s great. She and I are really good friends.” I smile. “Better than me and Christina were.”

“So what happened between the two of you? You’ve managed to avoid my questions about it when we speak on the phone.”

I pause at the door. “We just didn’t get along. We had different ideas about what was important in regards to school and our social lives. We had a fight and Lynn told me her roommate moved out so I transferred rooms. Anyway this is the new room.” I open the door and my room is packed with my friends. All of them, including Eric. They look up and I have to refrain myself from cursing. “These are all of my friends, who I was pretty sure would be sleeping, mom.”

Uriah comes over. ” Hi Mrs. Prior it’s nice to meet you. I’m Uriah, I live across the hall.”

My mom pulls him in for a hug, which Uriah happily returns as I shake my head. “It’s nice to meet you too Uriah.” Uriah introduces her to everyone in the room. Apparently he makes a better host than I do.

“Well I don’t know about everyone else, but I’m going back to bed.” Uriah moves his head to tell everyone to get out. Marlene, Shauna, and Zeke all give my mom a hug on the way out. Lynn and Eric are left with us.

“Now I remember you.” My mom says look at Eric. “You’re the RA right?” She has this look on her face, it’s as if she’s trying to get him to crack.

Eric laughs. “Yes ma’am that’s me.”

Lynn excuses herself, as she tries not to laugh. She’s either going to the bathroom or somewhere else to sleep for a little while longer. I wish I could of left with her. This is so awkward. I really hate that Eric wanted to meet my parents. Why did I let him talk me in to this? I really am an idiot. I’m brought back to reality and away from my thoughts when my mom starts talking again.

“And you two are just friends?” She raises an eyebrow at us.

I guess when I was wrapped up in my thoughts I had subconsciously moved closer to Eric so he was standing behind me. Even without thinking I wanted to protect him from the crazy lioness, that wants to protect her cubs, that is my mother.

I resist the urge to make a face. “Well yes and no.”

“Yes and no?” My mother repeats back to me.

“Actually, Mrs. Prior, Tris and I are dating.” Eric says before I can even think of what to say. I look back at him and he shrugs. “Well it’s not as if you were gonna open your mouth to say anything.”

“And how long have you guys been dating?” My mom has a smirk on her face, as if she already knew.

“About a month.” I reply before Eric could. We’d been debating about this topic for a while. He wanted for it to include when we first kissed, but I thought that we weren’t a couple then so it should really be the morning after I got my ass beat.

“About a month? It’s either a month or it’s not Beatrice.” My mom laughs.

“She says a month because that’s when we decided to be a couple. I say about 6 weeks because I want to include when we first kissed.” Eric tells my mom.

“Hold up. Didn’t you just start school six weeks ago?”

Where is Lynn? She could interrupt us right now. “Yes.” I reply.

“So you two kissed the first night you were here then?” My mom laughs, full out laughs. “Who knew you and I were the same Beatrice.”

I make a noise of disgust and Eric laughs. “Gross Mom.” Ugh I don’t want to eat lunch now.

Eric POV

“So let’s all go to lunch. I can get to know Eric more.” Mrs. Prior smiles. She doesn’t wait for us. She just walks out like she knows where she’s going. Hell she probably does since Tris told me that she went here.

Tris reaches in to her closet and grabs a purse. She throws some stuff in there and looks at me. “Ready?” She frowns.

I go to her and hug her. “Relax. You’re mom’s hilarious. This is going to be fun.”

Tris takes a deep breath. “I know.” She pulls back. “At least Max is going to be there and he mentioned that he would embarrass you.”

I laugh. “See then we can both be worried.” I place a kiss on her forehead. She pulls me back to her and brings my lips to hers.

“Okay I’m ready.” She smiles. We walk to the first floor and follow Max and Mrs. Prior’s voices. They’re in his office. Mrs. Prior is sitting on the edge of Max’s desk. Max has his hand on her leg and it looks a lot more flirty than friendly.

Tris smirks at me and knocks on the door. “You guys ready to go?”

Max removes his hand and Mrs. Prior’s face is red. So that’s where Tris gets her blush.

Mrs. Prior laughs. “We’re ready, just waiting on you two.”

Tris rolls her eyes at me with a smile. “Yeah they were definitely waiting on us.” Tris whispers.

I laugh. I put my arm around her shoulder, pulling her to me. We follow Mrs. Prior and Max out to her car.

“You know, I remember my mom saying that my dad stole her away from some guy their senior year of college.” She says with a smile. “I think Max was that guy.”

I laugh. “Maybe they’re just old friends catching up?” Tris gives me a look that says yeah okay. “Okay maybe he was that guy.”

Mrs. Prior leads us to a cross over. I thought she would of driven a minivan, she has that minivan mom feel to her, but instead we’re standing infront of a cross over.

“So where are we headed?” I ask Max.

“A café not too far from the school.” He smiles back at us.

“Great I’m starving.” I respond. Tris shakes her head at me as I open the car door for her. I close her door and get in on the other side.

“Since when are you such a gentlemen Coulter?” Max asks turning back to look at me.

“He’s always a gentlemen.” Tris laughs. I take her hand squeezing a bit.

Leave a Reply

