Chapter 28: “Dorm Room Confessions”

Eric POV

I glanced over at Tris again. She’s been quiet for the entire car ride back to school. When we were driving down she was playing with the radio, finding stations she liked, or singing horribly to songs. She wasn’t quiet like she was now. She was the one who volunteered to go back a day early with me. I wasn’t going to ask her to leave her family early. I was just letting her know that I wouldn’t be able to drive her back like planned, but she asked to come back with me.

I waited another five minutes with uncomfortable silence filling the car before I spoke. “Alright, what gives? Why are you so quiet?”

Tris had been twirling her fingers, and it stopped. She bit her lip for a moment. “I’m not sure where to begin.”

“From the beginning?” I supplied.

“I found out Four is Marcus Eaton’s son. Four is Tobias Eaton. My dad works for Marcus Eaton, I’ve known him for years. When I was younger Marcus and his family would spend most holidays with us. I knew Tobias when I was younger. When I was eight or nine, Marcus and his wife got divorced. Tobias stopped coming to the holidays. This was the first year that Tobias came to a holiday at my house. Imagine my shock when I found out my childhood friend was Four.” She sighs. “Then after dinner I find Marcus with his hand around Four’s neck. Four stopped him, but I told Marcus to leave. I threatened him.”

I glance at her from the corner of my eye. “Are you okay?”

“I’m fine. I’m not so sure about Four though. If those reports really true, then I can only imagine what he’s going through.” She says sadly.

“That’s horrible for him to go through.” I say honestly. I look over at Tris, I see her still looking uncomfortable. “Is there anything else that you’re not telling me?”

Tris purses her lips. God, what is she going to tell me? This can’t be good right?

“Please don’t be mad at Four… But he kissed me.” She looks over at me.

I can feel my hands gripping the steering wheel hard. I look down and see that my knuckles are white. I take a deep breath. “I told you.” I see Tris nod from the corner of my eye. “I told you that when you became friends with him again that he would try to kiss you.”

“I didn’t kiss him back, if you’re wondering. The kiss lasted less than ten seconds. He realized what he did wrong.” She tells me.

I nod, taking a deep breath. I wish she would of believed me. Why is she just telling me about this now though? Probably so I don’t go over there and kick his ass. “Okay.”

“Okay?” She questions.

“I know you wouldn’t have kissed him back.” I move my right hand from the steering wheel and wrap it around hers. “I’m angry at him not you. The worst part is that I can’t even be fully mad at him.” From my peripheral vision, I see the corners of her lips turn up to smile.

“You’re growing up Eric. I thought you would have waited by his door until he got back to give him a black eye.” Tris shakes her head.

I shrug. “I’m not going to do that. I’m guessing that you are both friends again?”

“Friendly. I can’t really say that we were friends before, more like acquaintances.” She replies. “But enough about him… You never told me how Thanksgiving was.”

“Thanksgiving went as usual. My parents required me to take out my piercings, not like I listened, then my dad’s boss comes for dinner with her husband. Once she left, my dad and I got into an argument about how I should be doing something better with my life. I’m wasting my time studying criminal justice. Not to mention that my dad threw a fit about the tattoo I got.” I roll my eyes. My family is crazy.

Tris doesn’t say anything for a moment. “I’m sorry Eric.” She kisses the back of my hand that’s holding hers. “Families suck. Anyone who has a good holiday is lying.”

I pull her hand to my lips, kissing the back of it. “You’re too good for me babe.”

Tris laughs. “I think we’re perfect for one another, but I’m not gonna go against your words.”

I roll my eyes at her. “So we should be back around dinner, do you wanna go out or order in?”

“Do I get cuddles if we order in?” She smiles.

“You get cuddles either way. I had to spend three nights without you wrapped around me.” I smile at her.

Tris smiles at me. I wish I were bold enough to tell her that I love her. I’ve wanted to say it since Halloween. She could have told me that she wanted to leave me for Four and I would still be in love with here. That little midget has my heart in her hands, she just doesn’t know it yet. We spend the rest of the drive talking about mindless things- well not mindless, but trivial things. I did learn a lot about her though. My favorite was that she was thinking of cutting her hair off before coming to DU. I’m talking shorter than my hair. She would of looked sexy either way.

I’m pulled out of my trance when I feel her hand in my lap. She’s absentmindedly stroking my dick. I look over at her. “Tris, what are you doing?”

She looks over at me. She looks down at her hand, and her cheeks go red. “I thought that was your thigh.” She goes to move her hand from me, but I hold it moving it to my thigh.

“You want to get in my pants.” I joke.

Tris doesn’t say anything, for a moment, but her cheeks get as red as a tomato. “I’ve already been in your pants Eric.”

Tris POV

I avoid Eric’s eyes. Thank god he’s driving. I really don’t want to look at him. I can’t believe I said that. I sneak a peek at him, and see that he’s smiling. His thumb strokes my palm. It’s a simple gesture, but it’s making me less embarrassed.

We arrive at school around dusk. The campus is eerily quiet and deserted. We grab our stuff and head up to Eric’s room.

“So what do you want to do for dinner tonight? In the mood for anything specific?” Eric wraps his arms around my waist.

I smile at his actions. “Is it bad that I want to grab trash like McDonalds or Taco Bell?”

Eric laughs at me. “Yes it is. Taco Bell is disgusting. You’re gonna spend half the night in the bathroom. As for McDonalds eh.”

“So then you decide Mr. Bossman.” I tell him.

“Diner run?” He asks.

“I thought we were getting take out?”

“I’ll call it in and pick it up. You can stay here, keeping my bed warm for me.” He nips my neck.

“Deal. Cheeseburger and fries please.” I say quickly. I really just wanted junk tonight.

“Okay.” He smiles. “I’m gonna call our orders in.” He pulls his phone from his pocket and quickly calls in the orders. “I’ll head there now. Just an FYI you’re the only one on this floor. There are two residents on your floor and one above us. So if someone comes knocking, either don’t answer or grab their number and tell them I’ll call.”

“I’ll be safe here dad. I plan to put on jammies and watch some TV.” I roll my eyes at him. “The door will be locked and I’ll have my phone on me. There’s really no need to worry.”

Eric kisses my forehead. “I’m always going to worry about you, I love you.”

I stare up at him. Eric’s eyes are wide. I don’t think he meant to say that… At all.

Leave a Reply

