Chapter 29: “Eight Letters, Three Words, Say it and I’m Yours”

Previously…

Eric kisses my forehead. “I’m always going to worry about you, I love you.”

I stare up at him. Eric’s eyes are wide. I don’t think he meant to say that… At all.

Eric POV

“I… Uh… I’m gonna go pick up our food. It should be done by now.” I turn around and get the hell out of there. I walk out the door, not looking back at Tris. That completely slipped out of my mouth. Talk about word vomit. I can’t ever get that back. It’s not like you can take that back. Once it’s out there, it’s really out there.

Her face really said it all. Apparently she doesn’t feel the same way. She looked at me shocked. Like why the hell is this guy saying that to me? Why the hell did I say that to her? I wanted to wait for the perfect moment to say it to her. Why would I just blurt it out?

I slam my car door behind me. “I am an idiot.” I keep repeating it to myself as I bang my head against my steering wheel. I pick my big head up and drive to the diner picking up our food. I stay in my car for five extra minutes when I get back.

The walk to the room is the longest in my life. I open the door. Tris is lying on my bed watching some ghost show. “Hey.” I say lamely. I put the food down on my desk.

Tris sits up. “Hey…”

“So about before… I didn’t mean to say it like that.”

“You didn’t mean that you love me?” She questions with a frown.

“No. I do love you. I love you more than I could have ever thought. I never thought I would feel this way about someone.” I take slow steps until I’m standing in front of her. “I wanted to tell you in the most romantic way possible. I wanted me telling you to be special.”

Tris smiles at me. She kneels so our height differences are gone. “So you don’t regret saying it?”

“Not at all.” I smile at her. My hands grip her waist, pulling her against me. “You know you don’t have to say it back. I know it’s early and that it’s too so-” I’m cut off by Tris’s lips against mine. She takes control of the kiss. Her tongue licks my lips and immediately I respond. Her tongue dances against mine. I pull away from the kiss when I hear her stomach growl. My forehead rests against hers.

“I’m not ready to say it back yet, but I’m getting closer to it each day.” She says quietly.

“I’ve wanted to say it for a while now.” I smile at her. “I was thinking about it on the car ride up here. ”

“How long is a while?” She questions.

I take a deep breath. “Almost a month.” I look in her eyes. “Don’t say it back unless you mean it. I don’t think my heart could take it if you were to lie to me.”

Tris smiles. “I have no intentions to say it back unless I mean it.” She gives me a chaste kiss. Her stomach growls again. “Can we eat now?” She laughs.

Tris POV

The remainder of Thanksgiving weekend passed quickly, as well as the rest of the semester. Eric has finished his finals already. He has to stay until the end of the week before he could go home. I, on the other hand, just took my last final. I take deep breath as I walk out of the lecture hall. I quickly make my way back to Eric’s room. I have to knock on the door more than once in order to get him to open the door for me.

“I told you to take the key with you this morning.” Eric grumbles at me.

“I was in a rush this morning. Excuse me for forgetting.” I roll my eyes at him, as I walk past him. “Have you forgotten that I took my last final this morning?”

“No babe, but I was sleeping before you got here.” He rolls his eyes. “If you get in to bed I promise that I will listen to anything you have to say.”

“Fine, give me a second.” I throw my bag and coat by his desk. I kick off my shoes, and join him. His bed is so warm, much warmer than it is outside in the cold Chicago morning air.

Eric pulls me to him, molding himself around me. “Alright. How’d your final go this morning?”

“It went alright. I had to stay until the end, which sucks. I was pretty much the last person there.”

Eric smiles at me. “I’m pretty sure that you’ll do great. I have complete faith in you.”

“Thank you.” I give him a quick kiss.

“So I leave the day after tomorrow around five. Do you still want a ride or are your parents coming to pick you up?”

“I’ll be leaving with you. My parents will be picking up Caleb. They didn’t even offer to come get me.” I sigh.

“That’s because they know that I’d take you home. Even if you wanted to go home early.” Eric stretches and kisses my neck.

“Do not leave a hickey.” I say in warning when he starts to nibble my neck.

“I’m not.” He yawns. “Alright babe. I’ve listened to everything you’ve had to say. It’s time for bed now.” He flips us so I’m lying on top of him. I shift until I find my comfortable spot on him. Eventually his breathing is what lulls me to sleep.

When I wake up a couple hours later I’m in the same position that I fell asleep. The only difference in everything is Eric reading a book as he holds me.

“Look who’s the sleepy head now?” He whispers.

“What time is it?” I yawn.

“Three.”

“Are you seriously reading a book while I’m sleeping on you?”

“Yeah, your body temperature is keeping me warm.” He smirks at me.

“That’s just one of the many things that I love about you.” I laugh.

“What?” Eric has a huge smile on his face.

“I love you.” I stretch and kiss him.

“Say it again.”

“I… Love… You.”

“Why’d you say it now?”

“Because I didn’t want to wait until Christmas. I realized it when finals started. You dealt with all my bitching and complaining, just like I dealt with you and your brooding. I realized that I could only put up with it because I love you.” I bring my lips to him and kiss him. I pull back from him and smile.

Leave a Reply

