Chapter Two: “Arrangements”

I open my eyes and immediately close them. Ugh, I have a massive hangover. Why did I drink so much last night? I open my eyes again. The light doesn’t hurt too much.

I turn my head. Eric is sleeping next to me. All the events of last night replay through my mind. Eric let me stay here last night so I could get some sleep. He did something selfless. This may be the first selfless thing he’s ever done- at least in front of me.

I try to pick up his arm from my waist, but his grip tightens. Who would of thought that Eric was a snuggler? There’s irony in that somewhere. “Eric!” I whisper. There’s no response. “Eric!” I say louder, pushing him.

“What?” He barks.

“Unwrap me. Unless you want me to pee on you and your bed.”

Immediately his arm disappears from my waist. I quickly get up and go to the bathroom. When I’m washing my hands, I look at myself in the mirror. For once I don’t have dark circles and bags under my eyes. I walk out and look at Eric sleeping on the bed. Do I join him or get dressed and leave?

“I can hear you thinking from there.” Eric turns to look at me. “Either come back to sleep or get dressed.”

I roll my eyes. “I’m not having sex with you. Just because I got drunk and slept next you all night doesn’t mean that I’m sleeping with you.”

“I said come back to sleep. Not come back and fuck me. You’re good looking Tris, but I want to go back to sleep.”

I walk back over to the bed. “You’re an asshole, you know that?”

“Yes I do, but I wasn’t expecting anything by letting you sleep over.” Eric pulls me back to him. “I don’t expect anything from you unless you want it.”

He is insufferable and cocky. “Just sleep Eric.”

“No problem.” He gets comfortable next to me. I can feel his breath on my neck. Eventually his breathing slows and he’s fallen back asleep. I keep replaying the events of last night over in my mind. After going over it an infinite amount of times, I finally fall back to sleep.

I wake up when I feel movement beside me. There’s no sunlight. I must have slept all day. Shit. This is what I try to avoid when I finally sleep. I stretch and sit up.

Eric comes back out of the bathroom. “We’re fucked trying to get some sleep tonight.”

I nod. “What time is it?”

“Six in the evening.” He pauses. “We missed dinner.”

I get up and walk over to the dresser with my clothes. I slide my pants on. “If you’re nice, I’ll invite you over for dinner.”

“I’m always nice.” Eric smirks at me. “I’ll even let you spend the night again.”

“I think I like you better when I’m drinking.”

“Feelings mutual, but if you cook dinner I’ll bring the booze.” He stands in front of me. “I’ll even let you shower in here.”

“Come across the hall in thirty minutes. Don’t forget the beer.”

I leave his apartment before he can get a witty response out. I seek out my phone when I get inside mine. Christina called me three times today, and texted me a bunch. I guess she figured out that I ended up crashing, because there’s nothing after one in the afternoon.

I pick up the clothes around my apartment and toss them in the hamper. I think Eric and I are becoming friends. I’d like to believe so anyway. I change in to sweat pants and a tank top. I’m just starting dinner when Eric walks through the door.

“I locked that. How’d you get in?”

“Max gave me the password.” He walks over to the fridge putting the beer away.

I continue to chop vegetables. Eric is staring at me from the other side of the counter. “What?”

“I think I like you better in my shirt.”

“Are you flirting with me?” I put the knife down. If I didn’t I’m pretty sure I’d cut my fingers off if I kept going.

“Just making a simple observation.” He takes a sip of his beer. “So what are you making?”

“Fajitas, they’re simple and pretty quick. Why? In the mood for something else?”

“I’ll eat whatever you want to cook.”

“Great. Open me a beer please. Cooking is more enjoyable when I have a buzz.” I laugh.

“Anything is more enjoying with a buzz.”

Dinner is cooked quickly, and Eric and I eat in comfortable silence. I must be used to dinner with Christina and Will because the silence was a beautiful thing. Those two are a match made in heaven. They never shut up. You’re lucky if you can get a word in.

Eric helps with the dishes; drying as I wash. “So I’ve been thinking.”

“About?”

“Last night, that was the first full night of sleep you got in two years right?”

“Yeah.” I shrug. “What about it?”

“What would you say if we kept that up? We spend the nights together, just sleeping. Nothing else.”

“Why?”

“Because for once you looked well rested.”

“What about you?”

He shrugs at me. “I was able to calm my mind enough to fall asleep… Twice. That’s the first time that’s happened to me in years.”

“All we do is sleep? Nothing else?”

“Well I was going to include cuddling. We seemed to do that pretty well, if you ask me.” He puts the last dish in the drying rack.

I stare at him. “What’s in this for you?”

“I just want sleep. That was the first time that I fell back to sleep after waking up. Look, we have the same schedule. It shouldn’t be a problem.”

“And what happens when you decide to hook up with someone. Do you really think I’m going to want to sleep next to you after that?”

He stares at me. After a couple minutes a smirk appears on his lips. “I won’t hook up with anyone.”

“Yeah right.” I roll my eyes. “You think I don’t hear about all the girls you hook up with? If I wasn’t so disgusted I’d be impressed that you have it in you.”

He laughs at that. “I give you my word. I won’t hook up with anybody while we have this going on.”

“Let me think about it.”

Eric nods. He dries his hands and walks to where my phone is sitting. He unlocks it and starts typing.

“What are you doing?”

“I’m adding my number. Send me a text when you make your decision.” He must have sent a text from my phone because I hear his phone go off.

“I said I’d let you know Eric.” I sigh. I don’t understand why he’s doing this though. I’ve known him for three years. I’ve worked with him for two of those. Why is he just now trying to be friends with me? Just because he wants a personality change doesn’t mean that he is going to start being friends with me.

“Great.” He pulls me to him, hugging me. Eric Coulter, the ruthless leader, is hugging me. There’s something wrong with this.

“I’ll talk to you later Eric.”

Leave a Reply

